Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean. After a history of disputes the island is divided into two territories. This is the Republic of Cyprus in the South under Greek control and the Turkish occupied area in the North which is self named The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Such a divide can make travelling between the North and South difficult. It is necessary to cross the border at designated check points which is usually possible without any major hassle. If you do not have an E.U. passport it is recommended that you enter the island from certain ‘legal’ points on the South (Greek) side.